Franklin County Sheriff's Office
The Sheriff serves as a law enforcement official, collects the county property taxes and provides court security as well as numerous other statutory required services. Twenty-four hour patrol is also provided to the citizens of Frankfort and Franklin County. Deputies are dispatched through a state-of-the art 9-1-1 Communications Center. If you have any questions please contact us at 502-875-8740.
Office hours: M-F, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
It is the mission of the Franklin County Sheriff’s Office to provide quality tax collection, law enforcement, court security, prisoner transport and civil services to the citizens who live and work in Franklin County.
We are dedicated to conducting ourselves in a manner respectful of the trust that has been bestowed upon us. We are dedicated to this mission and to the people we serve to ensure that Franklin County is a safe place to live, work and visit.
We recognize that Franklin County, as the Capital County, has high expectations. We will strive to meet or exceed those expectations by utilizing five core values. Each point of the five-pointed star of the Sheriff’s badge shall serve as a symbol of these values:
2011 PROPERTY TAX INFORMATION
The 2011 property tax bills were mailed on October 14, 2011. The 2% discount period will run from October 15, 2011 through close of business on November 15, 2011. The face amount will be collected from November 16, 2011 through close of business on January 2, 2012. As always to accept payment in the mail, the correct amount has to be in our office or postmarked by the U.S. Postal service by the last day of the respective collection period. If you did not receive a county property tax bill and you own property in Franklin County please contact our office. 502-875-8740
Under Kentucky State Law, these records are public information. Display of this information on the Internet is specifically authorized according to KRS 171.410.
If you believe any data provided is inaccurate, or if you have any comments about this site, we would like to hear from you.
While the sheriff has attempted to ensure that the data contained in this file is accurate and reflects the current information, the sheriff makes no warranties, expressed or implied, concerning the accuracy, completeness, reliability, or suitability of this data. The county does not assume any liability associated with the use or misuse of this data.
||Vehicle Inspection FAQ's
VEHICLE INSPECTION INFORMATION
Q: What do I need to have my vehicle inspected?
A: Possession of the vehicle, state title to the vehicle and form TC 96-182 (Application for Kentucky Certificate of Title or Registration) with owner information completed, signed and notorized.
Q: How much does it cost to have my vehicle inspected?
A: Five dollars ($5.00) If you bring the vehicle to the sheriff's office.
Q: I have just moved to Kentucky from another state. How long do I have to license my vehicle in Kentucky?
A: Fifteen days. (15) per KRS 186.020
Q: Where do I go to get my vehicle inspected?
A: Sheriff's office, 669 Chamberlin Ave., Frankfort. Or if you have all the required paperwork completed and possession of the vehicle, you can call and request a deputy be dispatched to your location. There is an additional fee of ten dollars ($10.00). If you choose this option you must have the exact amount of cash or a personal check made payable to: Franklin County Sheriff for $15.00. Deputies do not carry change. If you require a receipt for this fee you will need to contact the sheriff's office during normal office hours.
||Concealed Weapons Permit Information
CARRY CONCEALED DEADLY WEAPONS
Please visit the Kentucky State Policeweb site for information about the Kentucky Carry Concealed Deadly Weapons permit application process and law.